The novel takes place in the fictional Yoknapatawpha County and is split into four sections. The first is from the viewpoint of Benjy Compson, a thirty-three year old man with mental retardation. The second segment is set eighteen years earlier than the other three and is told from the point of view of Quentin Compson, a Harvard-educated student who commits suicide after a series of events involving his sister Caddy. The third is from the point of view of their cynical, embittered brother, Jason, and the fourth is from a third-person-limited-omniscient narrative point-of-view focused on Dilsey, the Compson family's black servant, and her unbiased point of view, which allows the reader to make his or her own assumptions from the actions of the other characters. Jason is also a focus in the section, but Faulkner gives glimpses of thoughts and actions from everyone in the family. The story overall summarizes the lives of people in the Compson family that has by now fallen into ruin. Many passages are written in a stream of consciousness. This novel is a classic example of the unreliable narrator technique.

Pop Culture Connections - Incoming

What Television Episodes reference this Book?

It is referred to by...
Vatos part of The Walking Dead Season 1

The Walking Dead:
Season: 1 / Episode: 4


This Television Episode refers to The Sound and the Fury written by William Faulkner
Part of this book is quoted: "I give it to you not that you may remember time, but that you might forget it now and then..."

More from Popisms


Name: Email: URL: Comment: